Monthly Archives: January 2011

Now that the 2011 Hall of Fame vote is in the books, we can look forward to watching Alomar, Blyleven and Gillick stand on the Cooperstown stage this summer.  It should be a good ceremony with wise-acre Blyleven taking the microphone, something he does extremely well during Twins games.  But we, baseball addicts, can also look a bit further–train our eyes and gaze deeper into the crystal ball–and size up the class of 2012.  At a cursory glance, it may seem that the Baseball Writers won’t elect anyone into Cooperstown next year, but in the realm of Hall of Fame voting, with internet campaigns and cronyism, anything is possible.

Of the holdovers, Reds shortstop Barry Larkin will go into the next vote with the highest percentage of support.  He gained 62.1% of the vote this round.  How will he do next year when the rookie class will be extremely weak?  Longshots Bernie Williams and Vinny Castilla head next year’s class with Tim Salmon, Brad Radke, Javy Lopez, Joe Randa, Ruben Sierra and Terry Mulholland rounding out a weak class.  I can’t see any of these guys getting more than 20% of the vote next year.  Williams has the best chance of reaching 20% because he was a Yankee, but it’ll be a shock if he gets much support.  He clearly wasn’t in the same class as center fielders Ken Griffey Jr. and Jim Edmonds–two peers that hit and fielded circles around Bernie.

With the weak class of 2012 in mind, holdovers from this year’s ballot should see a climb in support.  Larkin will probably crack the 70% mark but is 75%–the needed amount for enshrinement–too much for a guy whose career stats are close to Alan Trammell’s?  Trammell still lingers on the ballot but has never received much attention from voters, due largely to injury and inconsistency.  Larkin edges Trammell in consistency and has a higher BA, but there really isn’t much separating their stats.

Can Jack Morris, that innings-eating workhorse with a bunch of wins, get enough support to take the Cooperstown podium in 2012?  My guess is no, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see him get 60 to 65% of the vote next year.  Lee Smith’s best chance will be next year, before the 2013 studs of Biggio, Piazza, Bonds, Clemens and Schilling reach the ballot.  Lee will suffer when other firemen, better than John Franco, eventually make the ballot.  With guys like Hoffman, Wagner and eventually Rivera–if he ever slows down–on the ballot, who would vote for Big Lee?

Can second year guys like Jeff Bagwell and Larry Walker garner more support than they were shown this year?  With a weak class in 2012, I expect both Baggy and Walker to rise in percentage, but doubt either gets the needed 75% for enshrinement, even though Bagwell has my vote.  I can see Bagwell jumping up to 60% next year and Walker might climb to 30%, but I assume Walker will begin to lose votes after 2012 when other star players make their way to the ballot.  He could end up like Dwight Evans.  Evans had some support during his early years on the ballot before his case lost steam–for some foolish reason–and he was dropped from the ballot ala Harold Baines this year.

So polish your crystal balls, baseball fans, and give the year of 2012 a gander.  While you peer into your crystal ball, trying to see into the future, you might be presented with a barren podium at Cooperstown for 2012.

The wait is over for Bert Blyleven.  He’ll make his induction speech this summer with Pat Gillick and fellow writer’s ballot electee Roberto Alomar. 

The final percentages are listed below with my earlier predictions listed in parentheses.  I swung and missed on a few predictions but was close on others.  Bagwell deserved more support though I wasn’t expecting in his first time on the ballot.  Roberto Alomar, who I thought deserved it last year, saw a whirlwind of support–topping my prediction by nine points.  I was off by ten on Edgar Martinez and was happy, but shocked by the support given Larry Walker.  I expect that support to wane next year, like Dwight Evans, but we’ll see.  John Franco getting more support than Kevin Brown was also a shock.  I wasn’t expecting Brown to remain on the ballot long but was surprised he won’t be retained for next year’s ballot. 

Robert Alomar: 90% (81); Bert Blyleven 79.7 (77); Barry Larkin 62.1 (58); Jack Morris 53.5 (56.3); Lee Smith 45.3% (49); Jeff Bagwell 41.7% (50.5); Tim Raines 37.5% (34.5); Edgar Martinez 32.9% (42.4); Alan Trammell 24.3% (23.8); Larry Walker 20.3% (9.5); Mark McGwire 19.8% (22.8); Fred McGriff 17.9% (23.4); Dave Parker 15.3% (14.8); Don Mattingly 13.6% (14.6); Dale Murphy 12.6% (10.6); Rafael Palmeiro 11.0%; Juan Gonzalez 5.2% (4.2); Harold Baines 4.8% (4.8); John Franco 4.6% (3.4); Kevin Brown 2.1% (6.0); Tino Martinez 1.0% (1.2); Marquis Grissom 0.7% (0%); Al Leiter 0.7% (0.8); John Olerud 0.7% (2.3); B.J. Surhoff 0.3% (0.2); Bret Boone 0.2% (0.8); Benito Santiago 0.2%(1.0); Carlos Baerga (0.2), Lenny Harris, Bobby Higginson, Charles Johnson, Raul Mondesi (0.4), Kirk Rueter 0.0%