The 2010 Class

The names up for Hall of Fame consideration this year are as follows:

Roberto Alomar, Harold Baines, Bert Blyleven, Andre Dawson, Andres Galarraga, Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Tim Raines, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell, Eric Karros, David Segui, Todd Zeile, Robin Ventura, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Kevin Appier, Shane Reynolds, Ellis Burks and Ray Lankford.

Getting my vote would be holdovers Andre Dawson and Bert Blyleven and first-timer Roberto Alomar. 

I predict that Karros, Segui, Zeile, Hentgen, Jackson, Appier, Reynolds, Burks and Lankford won’t get enough votes to be retained on the 2011 Hall of Fame list. 

Although I hope Dawson and Blyleven finally make their place in the Hall, this could be a year when no former player gets inducted. 

Leave a comment and state who would get your vote.

  1. Big Brother said:

    This may just be one of the best HoF classes since Brett, Yount, and Ryan got inducted. Getting my vote would be: Dawson, Blyleven, Larkin, Mattingly, McGriff, Murphy, Smith, and Trammell.

    What’s it going to take to get Dawson in the Hall? Sure, he played forever, but that alone is a testament to the guy. Blyleven was a dominant pitcher, one of the best of the 80’s and early 90’s. Neither guy had a lot of flash, but they were damn good. Far better than guys like Rizzuto.

    • brettkiser said:

      This is a very interetsing Hall of Fame voting season but the fact there isn’t one clear-cut, definite inductee–like Rickey Henderson last year–makes this class kind of weak. If Dawson doesn’t make it this year, he’ll have a helluva rough chance making it in upcoming seasons. In 2011, such notables as Kevin Brown, Jeff Bagwell, Larry Walker, John Olerud and steroid-user Rafael Palmeiro will make the list. The 2012 ballot will be weak with Bernie Williams as the lone star making his debut on the ballot but 2013 will be groundbreaking (perhaps, substance-abusers and all) with the likes of Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Mike Piazza, Craig Biggio, Sammy Sosa, Kenny Lofton and Steve Finley debuting on the ballot.

      This year could be the year Dawson and Blyleven finally make it. I like Larkin and Trammell but since Alan has received little support for the Hall and his career stats are remarkably similar to Larkin’s, I don’t think Barry will get too much support either. Murphy and Mattingly were tremendous stars for five to six years and then just okay after that, so their cases are weak. If Lee Smith doesn’t make it in a couple years, he won’t stand a chance when guys like Mariano Rivera, Billy Wagner and Trevor Hoffman–guys that surpassed his records–make their way to the ballot. I like Fred McGriff and would vote for him, but given he played in the big-homer era it wouldn’t surprise me if he fails to get the necessary 5% to remain on the ballot.

      I’d still love to restructure the way the Hall of Fame does their voting. Guys that DESERVE to be in the Hall, like Jim McCormick, Cecil Travis, Dominic DiMaggio and Ted Simmons aren’t even going to be considered this year. The voting process has far too many flaws but I have to give credit to the Hall of Fame because they’re always trying to rectify these flaws.

  2. dingers said:

    Blyleven, Alomar, Mark McGwire, Edgar Martinez and Barry Larkin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: